Board of Directors

The Franklin County Education Foundation Board Of Directors is a volunteer board as defined in North Carolina General Statute, Chapter 55A, Nonprofit Corporation Act. It is made up of a cross section of the community, including business leaders, community leaders, educators, and citizens who support public education in Franklin County.


Ryan Brown, President
Open, Vice President
David Jennings, Secretary
Wendy Jones, Treasurer
Cheryl Benson, Executive Director


Hannah Bethea Tanya Evans
Randy Green Gil Johnson
Bobbie Jo May Rob Mitchell
Shane Mitchell Claire Roehl
Dr. Rhonda Schuhler Kim Stewart
Dr. Judy Stover
Maria Styers
Twig Wiggins Matthew Winslow
Melissa Wolfe Mike Zalewski



Help us provide grants to Franklin County teachers! Click Here to Donate Now!

Meet Our Executive Director

Dr. Cheryl Benson serves as Executive Director of the Franklin County Education Foundation. She brings to the job 40 years of experience in public education, including as a classroom teacher, assistant principal, principal, and human resources administrator.

Dr. Benson also has an extensive background as a professional development trainer, presenting across the state and nationally in the areas of team-building, strategic planning, Malcolm Baldrige Total Quality Initiatives, instructional practices, and leadership development. In addition to her role as Executive Director, she is currently an Examiner Trainer for the North Carolina Awards for Excellence.

Dr. Benson received the 2012 Herb Salinger National Award for Personnel Administrator of the Year. The award recognizes school based personnel administrators for contributions that have had a significant impact on public education at the local, state, national and/or international level. Award recipients also prove themselves as skilled managers of change and creativity in their approach to personnel administration.